Story | Scan The World

Balász Gyurics - Building the bridge

15 October, 2019

back to stories.

Balázs approached us a while ago about modelling scans. Following a short, yet successful run, he has decided that he would like to scan, and soon started sending wonderful scans from Budapest's cultural centres. We asked him a few questions to reveal his motivations and plans for 3D-related work in a cultural setup.

First, please tell us a little something about yourself.

I studied painting at the University of Pécs Visual Art Faculty. As an artist, I’ve always found that what attracts us to culture is a physical connection. It might be the stone with sculpting, the layers of paint, the smell and touch and sight of the materials that are used to create anything, really. Materials allow for expression and drive a lot of artists, including the contemporaries. My main concern is that the demand for contemporary art has dropped. People lose interest and money is an issue - buying art can be expensive and creating it even more so. In Budapest, for example, and even in Hungary in general, I keep seeing the same artists again and again, at all the exhibitions, all the events, it’s always the same group of people. It is hard to reach out to the world, but that’s where 3D could come in.

Talking about 3D, what is your relationship to it, how did you get to it?